The Popular Front on the march

The Popular Front on the march

  • 1934, Montrouge, Popular Front.

    KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

  • Supporters of the Popular Front.

    KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

  • Popular Front.

    KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

To close

Title: 1934, Montrouge, Popular Front.

Author : KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

Creation date : 1934

Date shown: 1934

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: photography

Storage location: Jeu de Paume website

Contact copyright: © Jeu de Paume / Photo André Kertész

Picture reference: KRT 1004ZZ6

1934, Montrouge, Popular Front.

© Jeu de Paume / Photo André Kertész

To close

Title: Supporters of the Popular Front.

Author : KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

Creation date : 1934

Date shown: 1934

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: photography

Storage location: Jeu de Paume website

Contact copyright: © Jeu de Paume / Photo André Kertész website

Picture reference: KRT 997ZZ3

Supporters of the Popular Front.

© Jeu de Paume / Photo André Kertész

To close

Title: Popular Front.

Author : KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

Creation date : 1934

Date shown: 1934

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: photography

Storage location: Jeu de Paume website

Contact copyright: © Jeu de Paume / Photo André Kertész website

Picture reference: KRT 997ZZ5

© Jeu de Paume / Photo André Kertész

Publication date: March 2016

Video

The Popular Front on the march

Video

Historical context

From open violence to symbolic confrontation

In February 1934, Paris returned to street violence that was believed to have disappeared. For several weeks, public space becomes the ground for possible clashes between the extra-parliamentary right and the anti-fascists.

However, the violence will gradually give way to symbolic clashes and demonstrations where everyone tries to show their strength to avoid having to use them. It finds its strongest expression in the powerful demonstration of July 14, 1935 called at the call of the three constituent parties of the Popular Front, the CGT and the CGTU and dozens of associations.

Image Analysis

"The raised fists of the proletariat"

André Kertész, born in Budapest in 1894, has been Parisian since 1925. He is one of the main collaborators of Seen, journal created by Lucien Vogel on the model of the photographic magazines of Weimar Germany and held for the first modern photographic news media. As such, it “covers” some of the demonstrations that punctuate and structure the counter-offensive to the events of February 6.

In these photographs, the demonstrators, taken from a low angle, testify to this diversity which distinguishes the demonstrations of the Popular Front from those of its adversaries, where the separation of the sexes is rigorous. Most of the women wear hats, but the younger ones are "in hair", a sign of emancipation that opponents of the Popular Front regard as the very expression of debauchery.

All raise their fists, borrowing from postures imported and acclimatized in France at the end of 1933, the beginning of 1934 by the German anti-fascist refugees. Here, the theatricality is assumed: several demonstrators look at the lens and are obviously aware of the look on them.

In one of the photos, the movement of the lips suggests that everyone is singing (or shouting) the same thing. The symbols displayed do not catch the photographer's attention. At least we can see the sides of a red flag, a piece of a banner and a portion of a banner (frequent in French processions). Or a Phrygian beanie and a red star, which refer to republican and class symbolism in the process of being subsumed to give shape to Popular Front culture. A spectacular badge, finally, worn by one of the women. The furtive presence of these symbols makes the identification of the manifestation uncertain.

These photographs are commonly dated 1934. However, it is highly probable that they relate to the rally organized on the morning of July 14, 1935 at the Buffalo stadium in Montrouge: the outfits are summery and the demonstrators, arranged by three and quite rigorously ordered in lines. and in columns, appear synchronized. This way of parade is extremely rare when it comes to Popular Front demonstrations, in that it is distinct from the geometric orderings desired by the extra-parliamentary right. On the other hand, it is necessary at the Buffalo stadium where the delegates take turns parading in front of their peers on a practicable which makes low-diving possible. This perspective also explains why the low stretched electric wire is noticeable in the image.

Interpretation

A new image of the event

Some photographers, including Kertész, perceive the changes then at work in the street demonstrations. However, they make a powerful contribution to generating new images by imagining to represent them in a new way and participate in the affirmation of new representations of the crowd. It is less for them to signify the number (by diving, in particular) or the message (by the banners) than to focus on individuals whose feelings and sometimes their private life are readable in the image.

If Kertész prefers women here, some dwell on the presence of children. Thus emerges the image of a quiet force marching towards a future to which the diagonals that structure the two photographs give the power of the magnet.

  • July 14th
  • Popular Front
  • demonstrations
  • photography
  • socialism

Bibliography

Philippe BURRIN, "Raised fists and outstretched arms, the contagion of symbols in the days of the Front-populaire", Twentieth century, no 11, July-September 1986, p. 5-20.

André KERTÉSZ, Sixty years of photography, Paris, Éditions du Chêne, 1972, reed. 1978.

Sandrine LACHAUMETTE, "Masses, crowd, people in the French illustrated press, 1933-1937", in Noelle GEROME, Sensitive archives, ENS de Cachan Publishing, 1995.

Danielle TARTAKOWSKY, Street demonstrations in France, 1918-1968, Paris, Publications of the Sorbonne, 1997.

COLLECTIVE, André Kertész, catalog of the traveling exhibition at the Center national d'art et de culture Georges-Pompidou, Paris, "Contrejour", Center national d'art et de culture Georges-Pompidou, 1977.

To cite this article

Danielle TARTAKOWSKY, “The Popular Front on the Move”


Video: POPULAR FRONT UNITY MARCH ERATTUPETTA. PFI PARADE

Die Volksfront auf dem Marsch

Die Volksfront auf dem Marsch

  • 1934, Montrouge, Volksfront.

    KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

  • Unterstützer der Volksfront.

    KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

  • Volksfront.

    KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

Schließen

Titel: 1934, Montrouge, Volksfront.

Autor: KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

Erstellungsdatum : 1934

Datum angezeigt: 1934

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Fotografie

Lagerort: Jeu de Paume Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Jeu de Paume / Foto André Kertész

Bildreferenz: KRT 1004ZZ6

1934, Montrouge, Volksfront.

© Jeu de Paume / Foto André Kertész

Schließen

Titel: Unterstützer der Volksfront.

Autor: KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

Erstellungsdatum : 1934

Datum angezeigt: 1934

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Fotografie

Lagerort: Jeu de Paume Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Jeu de Paume / Foto Website von André Kertész

Bildreferenz: KRT 997ZZ3

Unterstützer der Volksfront.

© Jeu de Paume / Foto André Kertész

Schließen

Titel: Beliebte Front.

Autor: KERTESZ André (1894 - 1985)

Erstellungsdatum : 1934

Datum angezeigt: 1934

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Fotografie

Lagerort: Jeu de Paume Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Jeu de Paume / Foto Website von André Kertész

Bildreferenz: KRT 997ZZ5

© Jeu de Paume / Foto André Kertész

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Video

Die Volksfront auf dem Marsch

Video

Historischer Zusammenhang

Von offener Gewalt zu symbolischer Konfrontation

Im Februar 1934 kehrte Paris zu Straßengewalt zurück, von der angenommen wurde, dass sie verschwunden ist. Der öffentliche Raum wird für mehrere Wochen zum Boden für mögliche Zusammenstöße zwischen dem außerparlamentarischen Recht und den Antifaschisten.

Die Gewalt wird jedoch allmählich symbolischen Zusammenstößen und Demonstrationen weichen, bei denen jeder versucht, seine Stärke zu zeigen, um zu vermeiden, dass er sie einsetzen muss. Sie findet ihren stärksten Ausdruck in der kraftvollen Demonstration vom 14. Juli 1935, bei der die drei Parteien der Volksfront, die CGT und die CGTU sowie Dutzende von Verbänden angerufen wurden.

Bildanalyse

"Die erhobenen Fäuste des Proletariats"

André Kertész, 1894 in Budapest geboren, ist seit 1925 Pariser. Er ist einer der Hauptmitarbeiter von Gesehen, eine Zeitschrift, die von Lucien Vogel nach dem Vorbild der deutschen Weimarer Fotomagazine erstellt und für die ersten modernen fotografischen Nachrichtenmedien gehalten wurde. Als solches „deckt“ es einige der Demonstrationen ab, die die Gegenoffensive zu den Ereignissen vom 6. Februar unterstreichen und strukturieren.

Auf diesen Fotografien zeugen die Demonstranten aus einem niedrigen Blickwinkel von dieser Vielfalt, die die Demonstrationen der Volksfront von denen ihrer Gegner unterscheidet, bei denen die Trennung der Geschlechter streng ist. Die meisten Frauen tragen Hüte, aber die jüngeren sind "im Haar", ein Zeichen der Emanzipation, das Gegner der Volksfront als Ausdruck von Ausschweifung betrachten.

Alle heben die Fäuste und leihen sich aus Positionen, die Ende 1933, Anfang 1934 von den deutschen antifaschistischen Flüchtlingen in Frankreich importiert und akklimatisiert wurden. Hier wird die Theatralik angenommen: Mehrere Demonstranten schauen auf die Linse und sind sich offensichtlich des Blicks auf sie bewusst.

Auf einem der Fotos deutet die Bewegung der Lippen darauf hin, dass jeder das Gleiche singt (oder schreit). Die angezeigten Symbole erregen nicht die Aufmerksamkeit des Fotografen. Zumindest können wir die Seiten einer roten Fahne, ein Stück eines Banners und einen Teil eines Banners sehen (häufig bei französischen Prozessionen). Oder eine phrygische Mütze und ein roter Stern, die sich auf republikanische und Klassensymbolik beziehen, während sie subsumiert werden, um der Kultur der Volksfront Gestalt zu verleihen. Ein spektakuläres Abzeichen, das schließlich von einer der Frauen getragen wurde. Das verstohlene Vorhandensein dieser Symbole macht die Identifizierung der Manifestation unsicher.

Diese Fotos stammen gewöhnlich aus dem Jahr 1934. Es ist jedoch sehr wahrscheinlich, dass sie sich auf die am Morgen des 14. Juli 1935 im Buffalo-Stadion in Montrouge organisierte Kundgebung beziehen: Die Outfits sind sommerlich und die Demonstranten zu dritt angeordnet und recht streng in Reihen angeordnet. und in Spalten erscheinen synchronisiert. Diese Art der Parade ist bei Demonstrationen an der Volksfront äußerst selten, da sie sich von den geometrischen Ordnungen unterscheidet, die das außerparlamentarische Recht wünscht. Auf der anderen Seite ist es im Buffalo-Stadion notwendig, wo die Delegierten abwechselnd vor ihren Kollegen auf einer Etage vorführen, die es ermöglicht, einen Blick aus einem niedrigen Winkel zu werfen. Diese Perspektive erklärt auch, warum der niedrig gedehnte elektrische Draht im Bild erkennbar ist.

Interpretation

Ein neues Bild der Veranstaltung

Einige Fotografen, darunter auch Kertész, nehmen die Veränderungen bei den Straßendemonstrationen wahr. Sie leisten jedoch einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Erzeugung neuer Bilder, indem sie sich vorstellen, sie auf neue Weise darzustellen und an der Bestätigung neuer Darstellungen der Menge teilzunehmen. Es ist weniger für sie, die Nummer (insbesondere durch Tauchen) oder die Botschaft (durch die Banner) zu kennzeichnen, als sich auf Personen zu konzentrieren, deren Gefühle und manchmal ihr Privatleben im Bild lesbar sind.

Wenn Kertész hier Frauen bevorzugt, bleiben einige bei der Anwesenheit von Kindern. So entsteht das Bild einer ruhigen Kraft, die in eine Zukunft marschiert, in die die Diagonalen, die die beiden Fotografien strukturieren, die Kraft des Magneten geben.

  • 14. Juli
  • Volksfront
  • Demonstrationen
  • Fotografie
  • Sozialismus

Literaturverzeichnis

Philippe BURRIN, "Erhöhte Fäuste und ausgestreckte Arme, die Ansteckung von Symbolen in den Tagen der Frontpopulaire", 20. JahrhundertNr. 11, Juli-September 1986, p. 5-20.

André KERTÉSZ, 60 Jahre Fotografie, Paris, Éditions du Chêne, 1972, Schilf. 1978.

Sandrine LACHAUMETTE, "Massen, Menschenmenge, Menschen in der französischen Illustriertenpresse, 1933-1937", im Noelle GEROME, Sensible Archive, ENS de Cachan Publishing, 1995.

Danielle TARTAKOWSKY, Straßendemonstrationen in Frankreich, 1918-1968, Paris, Veröffentlichungen der Sorbonne, 1997.

KOLLEKTIV, André Kertész, Katalog der Wanderausstellung im Nationalen Kunst- und Kulturzentrum Georges-Pompidou, Paris, "Contrejour", Nationales Kunst- und Kulturzentrum Georges-Pompidou, 1977.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Danielle TARTAKOWSKY, "Die Volksfront in Bewegung"


Video: Das Leben des Brian - German Die besten Szenen