The Duke of Orleans in Lapland

The Duke of Orleans in Lapland

  • The Duke of Orleans descends the great Eijampaïka rapid on the Mionio river in Lapland, August 1795

    BIARD François (1798 - 1882)

  • The Duke of Orleans received in a Lapp camp, August 1795

    BIARD François (1798 - 1882)

To close

Title: The Duke of Orleans descends the great Eijampaïka rapid on the Mionio river in Lapland, August 1795

Author : BIARD François (1798 - 1882)

Creation date : 1840

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 131 - Width 163

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas Commissioned by Louis-Philippe in 1840; Salon of 1841, n ° 141; Louis-Philippe collection, exhibited at the Grand Trianon; mentioned in the Musée du Luxembourg; entered Versailles in 1874

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot website

The Duke of Orleans descends the great Eijampaïka rapid on the Mionio river in Lapland, August 1795

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

To close

Title: The Duke of Orleans received in a Lapp camp, August 1795

Author : BIARD François (1798 - 1882)

Creation date : 1840

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 132 - Width 163

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas Commissioned by Louis-Philippe in 1840; Salon of 1841, n ° 140; Louis-Philippe collection; mentioned in the Musée du Luxembourg; entered Versailles in 1874

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot website

The Duke of Orleans received in a Lapp camp, August 1795

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Publication date: October 2003

Historical context

The Duke of Orléans, the future Louis-Philippe, had participated in the beginnings of the Revolution alongside his father, Philippe-Egalité. He fought in Jemmapes and followed Dumouriez when he passed to the Austrians in April 1793. From then on, proscribed by the Republicans and object of hatred for the emigrated royalists, while in Paris the Terror experienced its last upheavals (between April and December 1795), he decided on an incognito trip to Scandinavia. At the end of July, he made a trip to Lapland, beyond the Arctic Circle.

Image Analysis

The Eyanpaikka
“During his exile, from April to October 1795, the Duke of Orleans traveled through Sweden and Norway. He advanced to the North Cape. On his return, by crossing the rapids of the Eyanpaïkka on the Muonio river in a boat, he ran into the most serious dangers ”, such is the subject of this painting described in the booklet for the Salon of 1841. The Duke of Orleans, future king of the French, is at the center of the boat, living this "perilous" situation in an almost indolent attitude. His companions seem more preoccupied with danger than the young prince. The entire composition is based on the atmosphere created by the landscape, the violence of the rapids whose swirling waters oppose the verticality of the pines, an extreme wild mass. We will notice how the composition and the attitudes of the characters in this painting are similar to Delacroix's painting, La Barque de Don Juan (Louvre museum). It is still the romantic spirit that presides over this work by Biard, a painter renowned for his paintings of the Far North, who traveled to Lapland and Spitsbergen aboard the corvette La Recherche. This trip, which lasted from 1835 to 1839, inspired him several paintings including Magdalena Bay, view where he represented an extraordinary effect of aurora borealis (1841, Louvre), and of which he took up the subject for a large decoration in the Jardin des Plantes. in Paris. It was undoubtedly the example of the German Caspar David Friedrich (The Ice Sea, 1823-1824, Hamburg, Kunsthalle) who prompted Biard to paint these polar views.

The Lapps camp
It was in the company of the Marquis de Montjoie and his servant Baudoin that the Duke of Orleans traveled to Lapland. Leaving Hammerfest by boat, they headed to Maasoe Island, where a pastor accompanied them to the North Cape. It was on their way back that they stopped for a while with a Lapp family in the Qualoe Islands. Here we are in a summer camp set up for hunting and reindeer herding, very different from the winter underground dwellings. Biard enjoyed showing off the costumes and utensils of rustic Lapp life, while he placed the heroes of the painting to the right, in the shadows, like intruders observing this savage existence. Sparing an enclosed space underlined by the wooden poles which form a square in the rectangle of the painted surface, Biard opens on the left an entrance which reveals the aridity of the surrounding landscape and the virgin nature in which the Lapps live.

Interpretation

At the end of the 18th century, the taste for discovering the world was in tune with the times and reached all men with some education. Since the work of Mallet, who published in 1755 a work entitled "Introduction to the history of Dannemarc", Scandinavia and Lapland, more broadly the Far North, have begun to interest the public. Originally, one did not distinguish the Germano-Scandinavians from the Celts, the latter brought back into fashion by the works of Macpherson dealing with the myth of Ossian. This work was certainly part of the context of awareness of nationalities in the manner of Herder, but, more generally, in the emerging curiosity for the natural sciences. If the trip of the Duke of Orleans participated in research on physics, electricity and air, following the famous experiments of the Montgolfier brothers, it was also for him to study the peoples living in nature, including the Lapps, according to the model provided by Rousseau. In this sense, the taste for extreme nature had been revealed by the ascent of Mont Blanc carried out by Ferdinand de Saussure in 1786. At that time, following the spirit of the Age of Enlightenment, all the sciences were linked, and ethnology was hardly different from physics.

Politically, these two tables are also important. Louis-Philippe seems to have wanted to show by this that he was closely interested in the discoveries of his century and was not a sovereign cut off from the world by a sacredness that was now from another age. Wearing trousers and a leather hat takes the breeches and the tricorn back into the past. In addition, he portrays the image of a courageous prince, who has faced the challenges of the outside world in person.

  • Orleans (of)
  • Louis Philippe
  • romanticism
  • Trip
  • Lapland
  • North Pole
  • propaganda

Bibliography

Danielle TARTAKOWSKYLe Front populaireParis, Gallimard, collection “Découvertes”, 1996.Michel DREYFUSHistory of the CGTComplex, 1995. Posters and union struggles of the CGTChêne, 1985.

To cite this article

Jérémie BENOÎT, "The Duke of Orleans in Lapland"


Video: Larry Thorne: The Many Wars of the Phoenix Soldier

Der Herzog von Orleans in Lappland

Der Herzog von Orleans in Lappland

  • Der Herzog von Orleans steigt im August 1795 auf dem Fluss Mionio in Lappland den großen Eijampaïka Rapid ab

    BIARD François (1798 - 1882)

  • Der Herzog von Orleans empfing im August 1795 in einem Lappenlager

    BIARD François (1798 - 1882)

Schließen

Titel: Der Herzog von Orleans steigt im August 1795 auf dem Fluss Mionio in Lappland den großen Eijampaïka Rapid ab

Autor: BIARD François (1798 - 1882)

Erstellungsdatum : 1840

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 131 - Breite 163

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand 1840 von Louis-Philippe in Auftrag gegeben; Salon von 1841, Nr. 141; Louis-Philippe-Sammlung, ausgestellt im Grand Trianon; im Musée du Luxembourg erwähnt; trat 1874 in Versailles ein

Lagerraum: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von G. Blot

Der Herzog von Orleans steigt im August 1795 auf dem Fluss Mionio in Lappland den großen Eijampaïka Rapid ab

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Schließen

Titel: Der Herzog von Orleans empfing im August 1795 in einem Lappenlager

Autor: BIARD François (1798 - 1882)

Erstellungsdatum : 1840

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 132 - Breite 163

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand 1840 von Louis-Philippe in Auftrag gegeben; Salon von 1841, Nr. 140; Louis-Philippe-Sammlung; im Musée du Luxembourg erwähnt; trat 1874 in Versailles ein

Lagerraum: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von G. Blot

Der Herzog von Orleans empfing im August 1795 in einem Lappenlager

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: Oktober 2003

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der Herzog von Orléans, der zukünftige Louis-Philippe, hatte zusammen mit seinem Vater Philippe-Egalité an den Anfängen der Revolution teilgenommen. Er kämpfte in Jemmapes und folgte Dumouriez, als er im April 1793 an die Österreicher überging. Von da an, von den Republikanern verboten und Gegenstand des Hasses gegen die ausgewanderten Royalisten, erlebte der Terror in Paris seine letzten Umwälzungen (zwischen April und Dezember) 1795) entschied er sich für eine Inkognito-Reise nach Skandinavien. Ende Juli machte er eine Reise nach Lappland jenseits des Polarkreises.

Bildanalyse

Die Eyanpaikka
Während seines Exils von April bis Oktober 1795 reiste der Herzog von Orleans durch Schweden und Norwegen. Er rückte zum Nordkap vor. Bei seiner Rückkehr stieß er beim Überqueren der Stromschnellen der Eyanpaïkka auf dem Fluss Muonio mit einem Boot auf die schwerwiegendsten Gefahren. “Dies ist das Thema dieses Gemäldes, das in der Broschüre für den Salon von 1841 beschrieben ist. Der Herzog von Orleans, Der zukünftige König der Franzosen steht im Zentrum des Bootes und lebt diese "gefährliche" Situation in einer fast trägen Haltung. Seine Gefährten scheinen mehr mit Gefahren beschäftigt zu sein als der junge Prinz. Die gesamte Komposition basiert auf der Atmosphäre, die durch die Landschaft erzeugt wird, der Gewalt der Stromschnellen, deren wirbelndes Wasser der Vertikalität der Kiefern entgegenwirkt, einer extremen wilden Masse. Wir werden feststellen, wie ähnlich die Komposition und die Einstellungen der Figuren in diesem Gemälde Delacroix 'Gemälde La Barque de Don Juan (Louvre-Museum) sind. Es ist immer noch der romantische Geist, der dieses Werk von Biard präsidiert, einem Maler, der für seine Gemälde des hohen Nordens bekannt ist und an Bord der Korvette La Recherche nach Lappland und Spitzbergen gereist ist. Diese Reise, die von 1835 bis 1839 dauerte, inspirierte ihn zu mehreren Gemälden, darunter die Magdalena-Bucht, in der er eine außergewöhnliche Wirkung von Aurora Borealis (1841, Louvre) darstellte und die er für eine große Dekoration im Jardin des Plantes aufnahm. in Paris. Es war zweifellos das Beispiel des deutschen Caspar David Friedrich (Das Eismeer, 1823-1824, Hamburg, Kunsthalle), der Biard dazu veranlasste, diese polaren Ansichten zu malen.

Das Lappenlager
In Begleitung des Marquis de Montjoie und seines Dieners Baudoin reiste der Herzog von Orleans nach Lappland. Sie verließen Hammerfest mit dem Boot und fuhren nach Maasoe Island, wo ein Pastor sie zum Nordkap begleitete. Auf dem Rückweg machten sie eine Weile mit einer Lappenfamilie auf den Qualoe-Inseln halt. Hier befinden wir uns in einem Sommerlager, das für die Jagd und Rentierhaltung eingerichtet ist und sich stark von den unterirdischen Winterwohnungen unterscheidet. Biard genoss es, die Kostüme und Utensilien des rustikalen Lappenlebens zu zeigen, während er die Helden des Gemäldes rechts in den Schatten stellte, wie Eindringlinge, die diese wilde Existenz beobachteten. Biard spart einen geschlossenen Raum, der von den Holzstangen unterstrichen wird, die im Rechteck der bemalten Oberfläche ein Quadrat bilden, und öffnet links einen Eingang, der die Trockenheit der umgebenden Landschaft und die jungfräuliche Natur offenbart, in der die Lappen leben.

Interpretation

Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts war der Geschmack, die Welt zu entdecken, zeitgemäß und erreichte alle Männer mit einer gewissen Ausbildung. Seit der Arbeit von Mallet, der 1755 eine Arbeit mit dem Titel "Einführung in die Geschichte von Dannemarc" veröffentlichte, haben Skandinavien und Lappland, im weiteren Sinne der hohe Norden, begonnen, die Öffentlichkeit zu interessieren. Ursprünglich unterschied man die Deutsch-Skandinavier nicht von den Kelten, die durch die Werke von Macpherson, die sich mit dem Mythos von Ossian befassten, wieder in Mode gebracht wurden. Diese Arbeit war sicherlich Teil des Kontextes des Bewusstseins für Nationalitäten in der Art von Herder, aber allgemeiner in der aufkommenden Neugier für die Naturwissenschaften. Wenn die Reise des Herzogs von Orleans nach den berühmten Experimenten der Brüder Montgolfier an Forschungen zu Physik, Elektrizität und Luft teilnahm, war es auch seine Aufgabe, die in der Natur lebenden Völker zu untersuchen. einschließlich der Lappen nach dem Modell von Rousseau. In diesem Sinne war der Geschmack für extreme Natur durch den Aufstieg des Mont Blanc von Ferdinand de Saussure im Jahr 1786 offenbart worden. Zu dieser Zeit waren nach dem Geist des Zeitalters der Aufklärung alle Wissenschaften miteinander verbunden. und die Ethnologie unterschied sich kaum von der Physik.

Auch politisch sind diese beiden Tabellen wichtig. Louis-Philippe scheint damit zeigen zu wollen, dass er stark an den Entdeckungen seines Jahrhunderts interessiert war und kein Souverän war, der durch eine Heiligkeit, die jetzt aus einem anderen Zeitalter stammte, von der Welt abgeschnitten war. Das Tragen einer Hose und eines Lederhutes führt die Reithose und das Trikorn zurück in die Vergangenheit. Darüber hinaus porträtiert er das Bild eines mutigen Prinzen, der sich den Herausforderungen der Außenwelt persönlich gestellt hat.

  • Orleans (von)
  • Louis Philippe
  • Romantik
  • Ausflug
  • Lappland
  • Nordpol
  • Propaganda

Literaturverzeichnis

Danielle TARTAKOWSKYLe Front populaireParis, Gallimard, Sammlung „Découvertes“, 1996.Michel DREYFUSGeschichte des CGTComplex, 1995. Plakate und Gewerkschaftskämpfe der CGTChêne, 1985.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jérémie BENOÎT, "Der Herzog von Orleans in Lappland"


Video: Lapland Hotels Luostotunturi accommodation