Cubism and modernity

Cubism and modernity

  • The guitar, a statue of terror.

    BRAQUE Georges (1882 - 1963)

  • Still life on the table

    BRAQUE Georges (1882 - 1963)

  • Little head.

    LAURENS Jean-Paul (1838 - 1921)

To close

Title: The guitar, a statue of terror.

Author : BRAQUE Georges (1882 - 1963)

Creation date : 1913

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 73 - Width 100

Technique and other indications: Charcoal, gouache, glued papers.

Storage place: National Picasso Museum Paris website

Contact copyright: © ADAGP, © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - All rights reserved

Picture reference: 90-005997 / MP1990381

The guitar, a statue of terror.

© ADAGP, Photo RMN-Grand Palais - All rights reserved

To close

Title: Still life on the table

Author : BRAQUE Georges (1882 - 1963)

Creation date : 1914

Date shown: 1914

Dimensions: Height 48 - Width 62

Technique and other indications: Charcoal, papers pasted on paper.

Storage place: National Museum of Modern Art - Center Pompidou website

Contact copyright: © ADAGP, © Photo CNAC / MNAM Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - © All rights reserved website

Picture reference: 34-000241-02 / AM1984-354

Still life on the table

© ADAGP, Photo CNAC / MNAM Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - All rights reserved

To close

Title: Little head.

Author : LAURENS Jean-Paul (1838 - 1921)

Creation date : 1915

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 30 - Width 13

Technique and other indications: Polychrome wood and iron sheet.Construction / Title attributed: Small head.

Storage place: National Museum of Modern Art - Center Pompidou website

Contact copyright: © ADAGP, © Photo CNAC / MNAM Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - © All rights reserved

Picture reference: 35-000192-01 / AM1537S

© ADAGP, Photo CNAC / MNAM Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - All rights reserved

Publication date: June 2007

Historical context

A new urban environment

The end of the XIXe century and the beginning of the XXe have experienced an unprecedented change in living and working conditions. Technical inventions such as cars, telephones, electricity and balloons were changing the way of life; cinema and the craze for sports were emerging ...

In front of so many novelties, the young artists could not remain indifferent. Among French artists, Robert Delaunay painted the Eiffel Tower and, with André Derain, he found inspiration in team sports such as rugby.

The Cubists, although more preoccupied with formal problems and focused on the representation of their intimate world, were also interested in manifestations of a pervasive contemporaneity. The works of Braque, Picasso, Gris and Laurens testify more subtly to recent changes that have taken place in their microcosm of Montmartre.

Image Analysis

A discreet iconographic and material modernity

Lots of cubist works, like The Guitar, a statue of terror, include letters, drawn words ("concert", "ron"), painted with a stencil or quite simply sketched on the support stuck on the canvas (newspaper, advertising…). For Apollinaire, these writings are intimately linked to the Parisian visual environment: the cubists “introduced into their works of art letters of signs and other inscriptions because, in a modern city, the inscription, the sign , advertising, play a very important artistic role ”.

The visual significance of the advertising material was such that they even included fragments of it: an advertisement for the Gillette safety razor in Still life on the table, for the Tivoli cinema in The Guitar, a statue of terror, but also for brands of underwear, electric lamps, department stores… If they thus revealed, as Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler, their merchant, remarked, a “new universe of beauty, the one concealed in the posters , storefronts, advertising placards ”, the very choice of items included is not trivial: they most often evoke objects that have recently become commonplace and which characterize modernity particularly well. As such, the cinema program is, for example, highly significant.

The very materials of the pasted papers and the constructions play their part in this evocation of modern life: they are manufactured mechanically, correspond to new industries. This is the case with "faux wood" wallpapers used by Braque, produced in the factory to replace hand-painted wallpapers, or sheet metal used by Laurens, from a rapidly developing metallurgical sector.

Interpretation

Conscious and unconscious modernity

Through certain elements of their iconography (letters, advertisements, newspapers, etc.) and their industrial materials, the works of Braque, Picasso, Gris and Laurens are firmly rooted in their time. They thus stood against the artist’s usual isolation, taking refuge in his ivory tower, out of the world, concerned only with aesthetic problems and the art of the past.
But the reference to modernity is also creeping more insidiously into the very techniques of manufacturing glues and constructions. With the introduction of ready-made elements, the creative processes are largely reduced to collage, the assembly of pre-existing materials, almost a single gesture. Artists then seem to imitate industrial production processes and workers' modes of operation: the division of labor which leads to segmentation and deskilling of labor, the making of an object now being carried out by several people and being restricted to movements. simple repeated. Like the worker assembler joining parts he did not shape with his hands, Braque glues, Laurens welds together parts made by others. They limit the technical difficulty of artistic creation.

We should of course not see in this last reconciliation an entirely conscious will on the part of the cubists, and the idea of ​​impregnation seems on the contrary to be more appropriate: the concerns of an era always contaminate the work of artists without even knowing it. . On the other hand, it is obvious that, in their minds, pasted papers and constructions, thanks to the use of elements taken from their environment and of processes unheard of in the art world, concretized their search for new and modern means. ; in their eyes they embodied the most radical artistic modernity, that is, the one that best suited their time.

  • cubism
  • modernism
  • Apollinaire (Guillaume)
  • Artistic current
  • futurism
  • modernity

Bibliography

Guillaume Apollinaire, Art chronicles, 1902-1918, Paris, Gallimard, 1960 [collection of artistic reviews published between 1902 and 1918]. Pierre DAIX, Journal of Cubism, Paris-Geneva, Skira, 1982.Daniel-Henry KAHNWEILER, Aesthetic confessions, Paris, Gallimard, 1963 [collection of unpublished texts or texts published between 1919 and 1955]. Florian RODARI, Collage, glued papers, torn papers, cut papers, Geneva, Skira, 1988.

To cite this article

Claire LE THOMAS, "Cubism and modernity"


Video: Modernism and Post Modernism Cubism

Kubismus und Moderne

Kubismus und Moderne

  • Die Gitarre, eine Statue des Terrors.

    BRAQUE Georges (1882 - 1963)

  • Stillleben auf dem Tisch

    BRAQUE Georges (1882 - 1963)

  • Kleiner Kopf.

    LAURENS Jean-Paul (1838 - 1921)

Schließen

Titel: Die Gitarre, eine Statue des Terrors.

Autor: BRAQUE Georges (1882 - 1963)

Erstellungsdatum : 1913

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 73 - Breite 100

Technik und andere Indikationen: Holzkohle, Gouache, geklebte Papiere.

Lagerraum: Website des Nationalen Picasso-Museums Paris

Kontakt Copyright: © ADAGP, © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Bildreferenz: 90-005997 / MP1990381

Die Gitarre, eine Statue des Terrors.

© ADAGP, Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Schließen

Titel: Stillleben auf dem Tisch

Autor: BRAQUE Georges (1882 - 1963)

Erstellungsdatum : 1914

Datum angezeigt: 1914

Maße: Höhe 48 - Breite 62

Technik und andere Indikationen: Holzkohle, Papiere auf Papier geklebt.

Lagerraum: Nationales Museum für Moderne Kunst - Centre Pompidou Website

Kontakt Copyright: © ADAGP, © Foto CNAC / MNAM Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - © Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Bildreferenz: 34-000241-02 / AM1984-354

Stillleben auf dem Tisch

© ADAGP, Foto CNAC / MNAM Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Schließen

Titel: Kleiner Kopf.

Autor: LAURENS Jean-Paul (1838 - 1921)

Erstellungsdatum : 1915

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 30 - Breite 13

Technik und andere Indikationen: Polychromes Holz- und Eisenblech. Konstruktion / Titel zugeschrieben: Kleiner Kopf.

Lagerraum: Nationales Museum für Moderne Kunst - Centre Pompidou Website

Kontakt Copyright: © ADAGP, © Foto CNAC / MNAM Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - © Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Bildreferenz: 35-000192-01 / AM1537S

© ADAGP, Foto CNAC / MNAM Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Erscheinungsdatum: Juni 2007

Historischer Zusammenhang

Eine neue städtische Umgebung

Das Ende des XIXe Jahrhundert und der Beginn des XXe eine beispiellose Veränderung der Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen erlebt haben. Technische Erfindungen wie Autos, Telefone, Elektrizität und Luftballons störten die Lebensweise; Kino und die Begeisterung für Sport entstanden ...

Angesichts so vieler Neuheiten konnten die jungen Künstler nicht gleichgültig bleiben. Unter den französischen Künstlern malte Robert Delaunay den Eiffelturm und fand mit André Derain Inspiration in Mannschaftssportarten wie Rugby.

Die Kubisten waren zwar mehr mit formalen Problemen beschäftigt und konzentrierten sich auf die Darstellung ihrer intimen Welt, waren aber auch an Manifestationen einer allgegenwärtigen Zeitgenossenschaft interessiert. Die Werke von Braque, Picasso, Gris und Laurens zeugen subtiler von den jüngsten Veränderungen, die in ihrem Mikrokosmos von Montmartre stattgefunden haben.

Bildanalyse

Eine diskrete ikonografische und materielle Moderne

Viele kubistische Werke, wie Die Gitarre, eine Statue des TerrorsDazu gehören Buchstaben, gezeichnete Wörter ("Konzert", "Ron"), die mit einer Schablone bemalt oder ganz einfach auf dem auf der Leinwand aufgeklebten Träger (Zeitung, Werbung ...) skizziert sind. Für Apollinaire sind diese Schriften eng mit der Pariser visuellen Umgebung verbunden: Die Kubisten „haben in ihre Kunstwerke Zeichen und andere Inschriften eingeführt, weil in einer modernen Stadt die Inschrift das Zeichen ist , Werbung, spielen eine sehr wichtige künstlerische Rolle “.

Die visuelle Bedeutung des Werbematerials war so groß, dass es sogar Fragmente davon enthielt: eine Werbung für den Gillette-Rasierapparat in Stillleben auf dem Tisch, für das Tivoli-Kino in Die Gitarre, eine Statue des Terrors, aber auch für Marken von Unterwäsche, elektrischen Lampen, Kaufhäusern ... Wenn sie so enthüllten, wie ihr Händler Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler bemerkte, ein „neues Universum der Schönheit, das auf den Plakaten verborgen ist , Schaufenster, Werbeplakate “ist die Auswahl der enthaltenen Artikel nicht trivial: Sie erinnern meist an Objekte, die in letzter Zeit alltäglich geworden sind und die Moderne besonders gut charakterisieren. Das Kinoprogramm ist beispielsweise von großer Bedeutung.

Die Materialien von geklebten Papieren und Konstruktionen spielen eine Rolle bei dieser Erinnerung an das moderne Leben: Sie werden mechanisch hergestellt und entsprechen neuen Industrien. Dies ist der Fall bei den von Braque verwendeten "Kunstholz" -Tapeten, die in der Fabrik hergestellt wurden, um die handbemalten Tapeten oder das von Laurens verwendete Blech aus einem sich schnell entwickelnden metallurgischen Sektor zu ersetzen.

Interpretation

Bewusste und unbewusste Moderne

Durch bestimmte Elemente ihrer Ikonographie (Briefe, Anzeigen, Zeitungen usw.) und durch ihre Industriematerialien sind die Werke von Braque, Picasso, Gris und Laurens fest in ihrer Zeit verwurzelt. Sie standen damit der üblichen Isolation des Künstlers entgegen und suchten Zuflucht in seinem Elfenbeinturm außerhalb der Welt, nur mit ästhetischen Problemen und der Kunst der Vergangenheit.
Der Bezug zur Moderne schleicht sich aber auch heimtückischer in die Techniken der Herstellung von Klebstoffen und Konstruktionen ein. Mit der Einführung von vorgefertigten Elementen werden die kreativen Prozesse weitgehend auf Collagen reduziert, das Zusammensetzen bereits vorhandener Materialien, fast eine einzige Geste. Die Künstler scheinen dann industrielle Produktionsprozesse und Arbeitsweisen der Arbeiter zu imitieren: die Arbeitsteilung, die zur Segmentierung und zum Deskilling der Arbeit führt, die Herstellung eines Objekts, das jetzt von mehreren Personen ausgeführt wird und auf Bewegungen beschränkt ist. einfach wiederholt. Wie der Arbeiter, der Teile zusammenfügt, die er nicht mit seinen Händen hergestellt hat, Braque-Kleber, schweißt Laurens Teile zusammen, die von anderen hergestellt wurden. Sie begrenzen die technischen Schwierigkeiten des künstlerischen Schaffens.

Wir sollten in dieser letzten Versöhnung natürlich keinen völlig bewussten Willen der Kubisten sehen, und die Idee der Imprägnierung erscheint im Gegenteil angemessener: Die Anliegen einer Ära kontaminieren immer die Arbeit der Künstler, ohne es zu wissen. . Auf der anderen Seite ist es offensichtlich, dass in ihren Köpfen geklebte Papiere und Konstruktionen dank der Verwendung von Elementen aus ihrer Umgebung und neuen Prozessen in der Kunstwelt ihre Suche nach neuen und modernen Mitteln konkretisierten. ;; in ihren Augen verkörperten sie die radikalste künstlerische Moderne, das heißt die, die ihrer Zeit am besten entsprach.

  • Kubismus
  • Modernismus
  • Apollinaire (Guillaume)
  • Künstlerische Strömung
  • Futurismus
  • Modernität

Literaturverzeichnis

Guillaume Apollinaire, Kunstchroniken, 1902-1918, Paris, Gallimard, 1960 [Sammlung künstlerischer Rezensionen, veröffentlicht zwischen 1902 und 1918]. Pierre DAIX, Zeitschrift für Kubismus, Paris-Genf, Skira, 1982. Daniel-Henry KAHNWEILER, Ästhetische Geständnisse, Paris, Gallimard, 1963 [Sammlung unveröffentlichter oder zwischen 1919 und 1955 veröffentlichter Texte]. Florian RODARI, Collage, geklebte Papiere, zerrissene Papiere, geschnittene Papiere, Genf, Skira, 1988.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Claire LE THOMAS, "Kubismus und Moderne"


Video: Stil Epochen 12 - Die Klassische Moderne 1900-1937 BR 2009