Neo-Gothic and neo-antique jewelry

Neo-Gothic and neo-antique jewelry

  • Marie-Thérèse-Charlotte of France, Duchess of Angoulême (1778-1851).

    CAMINADE Alexandre François (1789 - 1862)

  • Necklace called "Gothic chain".

    PITAUX J.P.

  • Earring with a cameo.

    ANONYMOUS

  • Bracelet.

    FALIZE Alexis (1811 - 1898)

Marie-Thérèse-Charlotte of France, Duchess of Angoulême (1778-1851).

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

To close

Title: Necklace called "Gothic chain".

Author : PITAUX J.P. (-)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Emerald, opal, gold, ruby ​​Circa 1830, necklace in morocco case with the number crowned with Amélie Empress of Brazil. As a pendant, a cross decorated with two united hands, symbol of "faith".

Storage location: National Museum of Malmaison Castle website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Picture reference: 00-003747 / MM721

Necklace called "Gothic chain".

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

To close

Title: Earring with a cameo.

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 2.5 - Width 1.5

Technique and other indications: Crystal, gold.

Storage location: National Museum of Malmaison Castle website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Picture reference: 03-012611 / MM.40.47.4853

Earring with a cameo.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

To close

Title: Bracelet.

Author : FALIZE Alexis (1811 - 1898)

Creation date : 1882

Date shown: 1882

Dimensions: Height 2.4 - Width 6.6

Technique and other indications: enamel, gold

Storage location: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - All rights reserved

Picture reference: 92-004392 / OAO1230

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - All rights reserved

Publication date: March 2008

Historical context

19th century historicism owes much to Romanticism. The neo-Gothic style knows its greatest vogue under the July Monarchy; Victor Hugo publishes Notre Dame de Paris (1831); jewelers translate this language into goldsmith's work and carving, creating "feudal paraphernalia" (Vever) adorned with motifs of helmets, coats of arms, crests, knights.
The neo-Renaissance style reinterprets 16th century jewelry, drawing inspiration from Holbein, Vinci or Raphael and drawing from the architectural repertoire of the court of Francis I. The jewelers of the romantic period distinguished themselves in both genres, sometimes mixing them in the same work.
The artists then revive, from the 1850s to the 1890s, Greco-Latin and Middle Eastern Antiquity. Archaeological sites in Italy and in Asia Minor, which bring to light numerous objects of Roman, Etruscan, Trojan or supposedly such art; the digging of the Suez Canal, which caused a craze for Egypt, renewed interest in these genres. Eugène Fontenay (1824-1887) distinguished himself in the creation of jewels reminiscent of Greek or Roman art, of "perfect manufacture". For example, he creates earrings and brooches in which are embedded tiny enamel subjects inspired by murals found in Pompeii.

Image Analysis

The belt buckle and bracelet of the set of the Duchess of Angoulême, Charles X’s daughter-in-law, mimic the "cathedral" style, with the necklace and earrings looking oddly rather mismatched. The jewels of the end of the Restoration known as at the Cathedral are often more extravagant than those of the portrait: belt buckles representing scenes of pilgrimage, Greek or Latin crosses, Maltese or Jerusalem crosses, rosaries displayed as ornaments.
The so-called Gothic chain necklace, offered in 1830 by Queen Hortense to her niece Amélie Empress of Brazil, in gold adorned with opals, rubies and emeralds, is quite typical of French romanticism of the first half of the 19th century. . On the medallions are Gothic letters which form the dedication “your Hortense”. The cross pendant is engraved with two united hands, a symbol of faith.
The simple and elegant earring mimics an antique gold-rimmed crystal cameo engraving. This graceful specimen of 19th century antique taste is difficult to date with precision.
Finally the bracelet is signed by Alexis Falize (1811-1898), specialist in enamels. It is a large, rigid ratchet gold circle covered with enamels that imitate medieval motifs. The date of manufacture, 1880, appears among the enamelled motifs in Gothic letters. This very personal and original interpretation of neo-Gothic is due to one of the great artists of the 19th century, who rediscovered Limoges enamels.

Interpretation

The best historicizing jewelry belongs to the category of fine art jewelry, intended for a clientele concerned with originality. This style represents a path of remarkable creations. These ornaments use few precious stones and pearls of great value but enamels, baroque pearls, uncut cabochon stones. They favor gold and silver, engraved, chiseled, worked according to old techniques found, such as repoussé, niello or filigree. Repoussé is a goldsmith's technique intended to obtain a relief on a metal surface, by hand, with a hammer or with a chisel. Niello is a black enamel inlay based on metallic sulphides on a silver ground. The filigree decorates metal surfaces with very fine wires welded to a background, a process attributed to the Etruscans.
The work and inventiveness required by these jewels explain Conversely that the public has turned away from less successful ornaments that mimic the unimaginative past. The historicizing style was abandoned in the 1890s, when Art Nouveau appeared.

  • jewelry store
  • Middle Ages
  • neoclassicism

Bibliography

Henri VEVERFrench jewelry in the 19th century 1800-1900Paris, H. Fleury, 1906-1908.Companies & Representations(n ° 20, 2005) "Powers of the Gothic"

To cite this article

Jacqueline VIRUEGA, "Neo-Gothic and neo-antique jewel"


Video: 100 Years of Punk, Goth, and Vamp Beauty. Allure

Neugotischer und neoantiker Schmuck

Neugotischer und neoantiker Schmuck

  • Marie-Thérèse-Charlotte von Frankreich, Herzogin von Angoulême (1778-1851).

    KAMINADE Alexandre François (1789 - 1862)

  • Halskette namens "Gothic Chain".

    PITAUX J.P.

  • Ohrring mit einem Cameo.

    ANONYM

  • Armband.

    FALIZE Alexis (1811 - 1898)

Marie-Thérèse-Charlotte von Frankreich, Herzogin von Angoulême (1778-1851).

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Schließen

Titel: Halskette namens "Gothic Chain".

Autor: PITAUX J. P. (-)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Smaragd, Opal, Gold, Rubin um 1830, Halskette in Marokko-Etui mit der Nummer Amélie Empress of Brazil. Als Anhänger ein mit zwei vereinigten Händen verziertes Kreuz, Symbol des "Glaubens".

Lagerort: Website des Nationalmuseums von Malmaison Castle

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 00-003747 / MM721

Halskette namens "Gothic Chain".

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Schließen

Titel: Ohrring mit einem Cameo.

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 2,5 - Breite 1,5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Kristall, Gold.

Lagerort: Website des Nationalmuseums von Malmaison Castle

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 03-012611 / MM.40.47.4853

Ohrring mit einem Cameo.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Schließen

Titel: Armband.

Autor: FALIZE Alexis (1811 - 1898)

Erstellungsdatum : 1882

Datum angezeigt: 1882

Maße: Höhe 2,4 - Breite 6,6

Technik und andere Indikationen: Emaille, Gold

Lagerort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Bildreferenz: 92-004392 / OAO1230

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2008

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der Historismus des 19. Jahrhunderts hat viel mit der Romantik zu tun. Der neugotische Stil ist unter der Julimonarchie am beliebtesten; Victor Hugo veröffentlicht Notre Dame de Paris (1831); Juweliere übersetzen diese Sprache in Goldschmiedearbeiten und Schnitzereien und schaffen so "feudale Utensilien" (Vever), die mit Motiven von Helmen, Wappen, Wappen und Rittern geschmückt sind.
Der Neorenaissancestil interpretiert Schmuck aus dem 16. Jahrhundert neu, inspiriert von Holbein, Vinci oder Raphael und aus dem architektonischen Repertoire des Hofes von Franz I. Die Juweliere der Romantik unterschieden sich in beiden Genres und mischten sie manchmal im selben Werk.
Die Künstler beleben dann von den 1850er bis 1890er Jahren die griechisch-lateinische und nahöstliche Antike wieder. Die archäologischen Stätten in Italien und Kleinasien, die zahlreiche Objekte römischer, etruskischer, trojanischer oder angeblich solcher Kunst ans Licht bringen; Das Graben des Suezkanals, das Ägypten begeisterte, weckte erneut das Interesse an diesen Genres. Eugène Fontenay (1824-1887) zeichnete sich durch die Schaffung von Juwelen aus, die an griechische oder römische Kunst erinnern, an "perfekte Herstellung". Zum Beispiel kreiert er Ohrringe und Broschen, in die winzige Emaille-Motive eingebettet sind, die von Wandgemälden aus Pompeji inspiriert sind.

Bildanalyse

Die Gürtelschnalle und das Armband des Sets der Herzogin von Angoulême, der Schwiegertochter von Charles X., ahmen den "Kathedralen" -Stil nach, wobei die Halskette und die Ohrringe seltsamerweise nicht übereinstimmen. Die Juwelen des Endes der Restauration, die in der Kathedrale bekannt sind, sind oft extravaganter als die des Porträts: Gürtelschnallen, die Pilgerszenen darstellen, griechische oder lateinische Kreuze, maltesische oder Jerusalemer Kreuze, Rosenkränze als Ornamente.
Die sogenannte gotische Kettenhalskette, die Königin Hortense 1830 ihrer Nichte Amélie Empress of Brazil in Gold mit Opalen, Rubinen und Smaragden anbot, ist typisch für die französische Romantik der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts. . Auf den Medaillons befinden sich gotische Buchstaben, die die Widmung „Ihr Hortense“ bilden. Der Kreuzanhänger ist mit zwei vereinten Händen graviert, ein Symbol des Glaubens.
Der einfache und elegante Ohrring imitiert eine antike Cameo-Gravur mit goldenem Rand. Dieses liebenswürdige Exemplar des antiken Geschmacks des 19. Jahrhunderts ist schwer mit Präzision zu datieren.
Schließlich wird das Armband von Alexis Falize (1811-1898), Spezialist für Emails, signiert. Es ist ein großer, starrer Ratschengoldkreis, der mit Emails bedeckt ist, die mittelalterliche Motive imitieren. Das Herstellungsdatum 1880 erscheint unter den emaillierten Motiven in gotischen Buchstaben. Diese sehr persönliche und originelle Interpretation der Neugotik ist einem der großen Künstler des 19. Jahrhunderts zu verdanken, der Limoges-Emails wiederentdeckt hat.

Interpretation

Der beste historisierende Schmuck gehört zur Kategorie der Kunstschmuckstücke, die für eine Kundschaft bestimmt sind, die sich mit Originalität befasst. Dieser Stil repräsentiert einen Weg bemerkenswerter Kreationen. Diese Ornamente verwenden nur wenige Edelsteine ​​und Perlen von großem Wert, aber Emails, Barockperlen und ungeschnittene Cabochonsteine. Sie bevorzugen Gold und Silber, graviert, gemeißelt und mit alten Techniken wie Repoussé, Niello oder Filigran gearbeitet. Repoussé ist eine Goldschmiedetechnik, mit der mit einem Hammer oder einem Meißel von Hand ein Relief auf einer Metalloberfläche erzielt werden soll. Niello ist ein schwarzes Email-Inlay auf der Basis von Metallsulfiden auf silbernem Grund. Das Filigran verziert Metalloberflächen mit sehr feinen Drähten, die an einen Hintergrund geschweißt sind, ein Prozess, der den Etruskern zugeschrieben wird.
Die Arbeit und der Erfindungsreichtum dieser Juwelen erklären Umgekehrt dass sich die Öffentlichkeit von weniger erfolgreichen Ornamenten abgewandt hat, die die einfallslose Vergangenheit imitieren. Der historisierende Stil wurde in den 1890er Jahren aufgegeben, als der Jugendstil erschien.

  • Juwelier
  • Mittelalter
  • Neoklassizismus

Literaturverzeichnis

Henri VEVERFranzösischer Schmuck im 19. Jahrhundert 1800-1900Paris, H. Fleury, 1906-1908.Firmen & Vertretungen(Nr. 20, 2005) "Mächte der Gotik"

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jacqueline VIRUEGA, "Neugotisches und neoantikes Juwel"


Video: Silber reinigen: Schmuck aus Silber selber sauber machen - Trick. Lifehack