The Alsatian kiss

The Alsatian kiss

To close

Title: The Alsatian kiss.

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Creation date : 1919

Date shown: 1918

Dimensions: Height 21.4 - Width 26.4

Technique and other indications: chromolithography on cardboard

Storage location: MuCEM website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais

Picture reference: 01.2.36 / Inv. MNATP 993.2.419

The Alsatian kiss.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais

Publication date: September 2009

Video

The Alsatian kiss

Video

Historical context

During the First World War, the Post Office calendar offers some military scenes showing the troops at rest (Meal at the forefront) or compositions highlighting the modernity of the French army (The dispatch rider, Aircraft hunting). The post-war period saw the flourishing of "victory calendars", the most frequent reason for which was the parade on horseback of French or allied armies on the Champs-Elysées.

Image Analysis

It is to this series that The Alsatian kiss. The subject chosen to illustrate this calendar is the arrival of French troops in an Alsatian village. The cavalry parade, trumpets in the lead, in an attitude that suggests more the parade than a scene of liberation. The village decked out in the colors of France shows no sign of German occupation. Alsace presented here responds to folkloric commonplaces, the image accumulating visual stereotypes reputed to define Alsatian identity: half-timbered houses, fir trees, the mountain suggested in the background and especially the female costumes. These are the folk Alsatian costumes as they were pictured in the 1920s, with a fairly precise notation of the waistcoat and the embroidery at the bottom of the red dress. On the technical level, the image is printed in pure chromolithography, a complex technique with a high cost price, the use of which for calendars is more characteristic of the 1880s and 1900s than of the 1920s. It is a calendar. luxury, which contrasts radically with the current production of the war years and the immediate post-war years. This late use of chromolithography, in a genre where screening techniques such as four-color printing are already well established, in itself constitutes an emphasis on the subject represented: the liberation of Alsace deserves special technical treatment.

Interpretation

The theme of the soldier's kiss, a commonplace in liberation scenes, is reinforced by a division of genres and ages that may suggest the union of a feminine Alsace and a masculine France: the soldiers, with smiles on their lips, are young men to whom their quality of riders gives an increased power. Alsace is represented by women, an old man and a child. The scene does not show the liberation of Strasbourg but that of a small rural town, as evidenced by the ducks in the foreground, a sign of the adhesion to France of the whole of Alsace.

  • Alsace Lorraine
  • army
  • tricolour flag
  • folklore
  • War of 14-18
  • annexation
  • popular imagery
  • Champs Elysees

Bibliography

Pierre VALLAUD, 14-18, World War I, volumes I and II, Paris, Fayard, 2004. Jean-Marie MAYEUR "A frontier memory: Alsace" in Pierre Nora (Dir) Memorial place Paris, gallimard réed. coll. “Quarto”, 1997. Jean-Claude RICHEZ and Alfred WAHL Daily life in Alsace between France and Germany Paris, Hachette, 1993.

To cite this article

Frédéric MAGUET, "The kiss of the Alsatian woman"


Video: Cute Baby Meets a German Shepherd Puppy for the First Time!

Der elsässische Kuss

Der elsässische Kuss

Schließen

Titel: Der elsässische Kuss.

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1919

Datum angezeigt: 1918

Maße: Höhe 21,4 - Breite 26,4

Technik und andere Indikationen: Chromolithographie auf Karton

Lagerraum: MuCEM-Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais

Bildreferenz: 01.2.36 / Inv. MNATP 993.2.419

Der elsässische Kuss.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2009

Video

Der elsässische Kuss

Video

Historischer Zusammenhang

Während des Ersten Weltkriegs bietet der Postkalender einige militärische Szenen, in denen die Truppen in Ruhe gezeigt werden (Essen an vorderster Front) oder Kompositionen, die die Modernität der französischen Armee hervorheben (Der Versandfahrer, Flugzeugjagd). In der Nachkriegszeit blühten "Siegeskalender" auf. Der häufigste Grund dafür war die Parade französischer oder alliierter Armeen auf den Champs-Elysées zu Pferd.

Bildanalyse

Es ist zu dieser Serie, dass Der elsässische Kuss. Das Thema, das zur Veranschaulichung dieses Kalenders ausgewählt wurde, ist die Ankunft französischer Truppen in einem elsässischen Dorf. Die Kavallerieparade, Trompeten an der Spitze, in einer Haltung, die eher auf die Parade als auf eine Befreiungsszene hindeutet. Das in den Farben Frankreichs geschmückte Dorf weist keine Anzeichen deutscher Besatzung auf. Das hier vorgestellte Elsass reagiert auf folkloristische Gemeinplätze, wobei das Bild visuelle Stereotypen ansammelt, die angeblich die elsässische Identität definieren: Fachwerkhäuser, Tannen, der im Hintergrund vorgeschlagene Berg und insbesondere die weiblichen Kostüme. Dies sind die volkstümlichen elsässischen Kostüme, wie sie in den 1920er Jahren abgebildet wurden, mit einer ziemlich genauen Notation der Weste und der Stickerei am unteren Rand des roten Kleides. Auf technischer Ebene wird das Bild in reiner Chromolithographie gedruckt, einer komplexen Technik mit einem hohen Selbstkostenpreis, deren Verwendung für Kalender für die 1880er und 1900er Jahre charakteristischer ist als für die 1920er Jahre. Es handelt sich um einen Kalender. Luxus, der sich radikal von der aktuellen Produktion der Kriegsjahre und der unmittelbaren Nachkriegsjahre abhebt. Diese späte Verwendung der Chromolithographie in einem Genre, in dem Screening-Techniken wie der Vierfarbdruck bereits gut etabliert sind, stellt an sich einen Schwerpunkt auf das dargestellte Thema dar: Die Befreiung des Elsass verdient eine besondere technische Behandlung.

Interpretation

Das Thema des Soldatenkusses, das in Befreiungsszenen alltäglich ist, wird durch eine Trennung von Genres und Altersgruppen verstärkt, die auf die Vereinigung eines weiblichen Elsass und eines männlichen Frankreichs hindeuten könnte: Die Soldaten mit einem Lächeln auf den Lippen sind es junge Männer, denen ihre Reiterqualität eine erhöhte Kraft verleiht. Das Elsass wird von Frauen, einem alten Mann und einem Kind vertreten. Die Szene zeigt nicht die Befreiung Straßburgs, sondern die einer kleinen ländlichen Stadt, wie die Enten im Vordergrund zeigen, ein Zeichen für die Anhaftung des gesamten Elsass an Frankreich.

  • Elsass Lothringen
  • Heer
  • dreifarbige Flagge
  • Folklore
  • Krieg von 14-18
  • Annexion
  • beliebte Bilder
  • Champs Elysees

Literaturverzeichnis

Pierre VALLAUD, 14-18, Erster Weltkrieg, Bände I und II, Paris, Fayard, 2004. Jean-Marie MAYEUR "Eine Grenzerinnerung: Elsass" in Pierre Nora (Dir) Gedenkstätte Paris, Gallimard réed. coll. "Quarto", 1997. Jean-Claude RICHEZ und Alfred WAHL Alltag im Elsass zwischen Frankreich und Deutschland Paris, Hachette, 1993.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Frédéric MAGUET, "Der Kuss der Elsässer"


Video: Karottensuppe - mit Toni Mörwald