The "antique bath"

The

To close

Title: Tepidarium.

Author : CHASSERIAU Théodore (1819 - 1856)

Creation date : 1853

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 171 - Width 258

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Picture reference: 99-012629 / RF71

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Publication date: April 2011

Historical context

A neoclassical representation of the ancient bath at the dawn of the Second Empire

A pupil of Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres, but also influenced by Eugène Delacroix and Paul Delaroche, Théodore Chassériau (1819-1856) was quickly recognized as one of the greatest painters of his time. Exhibiting at the Salon in 1836, he brought about a certain synthesis between academicism, neoclassicism, Orientalism and Romanticism, acquiring great renown for his portraits, genre paintings and historical scenes.

In this regard, Tepidarium is without doubt his most famous and characteristic work. Presented with great success at the Salon of 1853 and acquired shortly after by the State, it perfectly represents a genre and style highly prized in the beginnings of the Second Empire.

Through the chosen theme and the aesthetics of the representation, this canvas also tells us about a certain vision of baths and hygiene characteristic of the "new era", between classical reference and modernity.

Image Analysis

In the center was the bath

On a trip in the 1840s, Chassériau discovered Pompeii and the remains of the baths of Venus Génitrix. Designed by its author as a veritable "ancient fresco stolen from the wall of Pompeii", Tepidarium therefore clearly presents an ancient scene where many women of the city indulge in the pleasure of bathing in the part of the thermal baths where lukewarm baths can be taken (tepidus), rest and dry off.

The structure of the composition allows you to quickly grasp the whole work. Richly decorated with paintings and wall engravings, the upper room tepidarium shelters many women: seated around a basin on feet, those who come to the baths, naked or dressed in light fabrics; behind them appear those who, standing and dressed, serve them, carrying dishes or amphorae. In the center of the canvas, a young woman stretches and dries herself off, while another sits talking to her.

Interpretation

The ancient lesson in the "modern" era of the Second Empire

The Antiquity of Chassériau is also a little oriental, evoking both the exoticism and the sweetness of a North African harem. While the slightly erotic atmosphere, the nonchalant and sensual postures, the languor, the whiteness and the pure line of the bodies unmistakably recall Ingres and his women in the bath, the use of color and the sensuality of the whole must be more to Delacroix.

Peculiar to neoclassicism as well as to romanticism, which also influenced Chassériau, this mixture of both artistic and historical references to ancient times and to the East is very characteristic of the vision of the time. In fact, we consider that the refined uses of Roman civilization in terms of hygiene continued in the Arab world, which is confirmed in Paris by the accounts of wealthy French travelers, more and more numerous to taste the joys of the baths on site. . The success of both public and official Tepidarium would then express and help spread the idea that hygiene, which precisely became a public health concern under the reign of Napoleon III, can also be perceived and experienced as a delight. The relationship with the body and its cleanliness as well as the emerging awareness of the need for hygiene would then take on a double face, like other elements of this "modernity" of the Second Empire.

  • antiquity
  • hygiene
  • frescoes

Bibliography

Alain CORBIN [ed.], History of the body, vol. II “From the Revolution to the Great War”, Paris, Le Seuil, coll. "L’Univers historique", 2005.Christine PELTRE, Théodore Chassériau, Paris, Gallimard, coll. “Monographs”, 2001.Alain PLESSIS, From the Imperial Festival to the Federated Wall. 1852-1871, Paris, Le Seuil, coll. "Points", 1979.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "The" antique bath ""


Video: Antique Victorian Cast Iron Canopy Shower Bath With Chrome Fittings - UKAA

Das "antike Bad"

Das

Schließen

Titel: Tepidarium.

Autor: CHASSERIAU Théodore (1819 - 1856)

Erstellungsdatum : 1853

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 171 - Breite 258

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Lagerraum: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 99-012629 / RF71

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: April 2011

Historischer Zusammenhang

Eine neoklassizistische Darstellung des alten Bades zu Beginn des Zweiten Reiches

Théodore Chassériau (1819-1856), ein Schüler von Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres, der aber auch von Eugène Delacroix und Paul Delaroche beeinflusst wurde, wurde schnell als einer der größten Maler seiner Zeit anerkannt. Als er 1836 im Salon ausstellte, brachte er eine gewisse Synthese zwischen Akademismus, Neoklassizismus, Orientalismus und Romantik hervor und erlangte großes Ansehen für seine Porträts, Genrebilder und historischen Szenen.

In dieser Hinsicht Tepidarium ist wohl sein berühmtestes und charakteristischstes Werk. Mit großem Erfolg im Salon von 1853 präsentiert und bald darauf vom Staat erworben, repräsentiert es perfekt ein Genre und einen Stil, die in den Anfängen des Zweiten Reiches hoch geschätzt wurden.

Durch das gewählte Thema und die Ästhetik der Darstellung erzählt dieses Gemälde auch von einer bestimmten Vision von Bädern und Hygiene, die für die "neue Ära" charakteristisch ist, zwischen klassischem Bezug und Moderne.

Bildanalyse

In der Mitte war das Bad

Auf einer Reise in den 1840er Jahren entdeckte Chassériau Pompeji und die Überreste der Bäder der Venus Génitrix. Entworfen von seinem Autor als wahres "altes Fresko, das von der Mauer von Pompeji gestohlen wurde", Tepidarium zeigt daher deutlich eine alte Szene, in der sich viele Frauen der Stadt dem Vergnügen hingeben, in dem Teil der Thermalbäder zu baden, in dem lauwarme Bäder genommen werden können (Tepidus), ausruhen und abtrocknen.

Die Struktur der Komposition ermöglicht es Ihnen, die gesamte Arbeit schnell zu erfassen. Der obere Raum ist reich mit Gemälden und Wandstichen verziert Tepidarium schützt viele Frauen: sitzt um ein Becken auf Füßen, diejenigen, die nackt oder in leichten Stoffen gekleidet in die Bäder kommen; hinter ihnen erscheinen diejenigen, die sie stehen und anziehen, Geschirr oder Amphoren tragen. In der Mitte der Leinwand streckt sich eine junge Frau und trocknet sich ab, während eine andere sitzt und mit ihr spricht.

Interpretation

Die alte Lektion in der "modernen" Ära des Zweiten Reiches

Die Antike von Chassériau ist auch ein wenig orientalisch und erinnert sowohl an die Exotik als auch an die Sanftheit eines nordafrikanischen Harems. Während die leicht erotische Atmosphäre, die nonchalante und sinnliche Haltung, die Trägheit, das Weiß und die reine Linie der Körper unverkennbar an Ingres und seine Frauen im Bad erinnern, müssen der Einsatz von Farbe und die Sinnlichkeit des Ganzen mehr sein nach Delacroix.

Diese künstlerische und historische Mischung aus antiken und orientalischen Referenzen ist sowohl für den Neoklassizismus als auch für die Romantik, die auch Chassériau beeinflusste, sehr charakteristisch für die Vision der Zeit. Tatsächlich sind wir der Ansicht, dass die raffinierte Nutzung der römischen Zivilisation in Bezug auf die Hygiene in der arabischen Welt fortgesetzt wurde, was in Paris durch die Berichte wohlhabender französischer Reisender bestätigt wird, die immer zahlreicher werden, um die Freude am Baden vor Ort zu kosten. . Der Erfolg von öffentlichen und offiziellen Tepidarium würde dann zum Ausdruck bringen und dazu beitragen, die Idee zu verbreiten, dass Hygiene, die unter Napoleon III. genau zu einem Problem der öffentlichen Gesundheit wurde, auch als Freude wahrgenommen und erlebt werden kann. Die Beziehung zum Körper und seine Sauberkeit sowie das aufkommende Bewusstsein für die Notwendigkeit von Hygiene würden dann wie andere Elemente dieser "Modernität" des Zweiten Reiches ein doppeltes Gesicht bekommen.

  • Antike
  • Hygiene
  • Fresken

Literaturverzeichnis

Alain CORBIN [dir.], Geschichte des Körpers, vol. II "Von der Revolution zum Ersten Weltkrieg", Paris, Le Seuil, Slg. "L’Univers historique", 2005.Christine PELTRE, Théodore Chassériau, Paris, Gallimard, Slg. "Monographien", 2001.Alain PLESSIS, Vom kaiserlichen Fest zur Föderierten Mauer. 1852-1871, Paris, Le Seuil, Slg. "Points", 1979.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Das" antike Bad ""


Video: Großbaustelle MINIATUR WUNDERLAND - Neue Modellbauwelten entstehen. HD Doku