Napoleon's farewell to the Imperial Guard (April 20, 1814)

Napoleon's farewell to the Imperial Guard (April 20, 1814)

To close

Title: Napoleon's farewell to the Imperial Guard in the Cour du Cheval-Blanc at the Château de Fontainebleau.

Author : MONTFORT Antoine Alphonse (1802 - 1884)

Date shown: April 20, 1814

Dimensions: Height 98 - Width 130

Technique and other indications: 20 April 1814 Oil on canvas After Horace Vernet.

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Picture reference: 90EE1012 / MV 1775

Napoleon's farewell to the Imperial Guard in the Cour du Cheval-Blanc at the Château de Fontainebleau.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

February 1814: the campaign in France turns badly; the generals no longer follow the plans of Napoleon, who won his last victory at the Battle of Montereau on February 18. On Wednesday April 20, it is the departure for the island of Elba.

Image Analysis

The scene is located in the Cour du Cheval Blanc (also called Cour des Adieux in memory of this episode). We can see above and to the left the famous horseshoe staircase created under Louis XIII. Napoleon is in the center of the picture, face on, in boots, sword at the side, his head wearing the legendary hat. Behind him, to the left, the representatives of the victorious countries, hat in hand, looking grave. One of them lifts his hat with his left hand. The two generals of Napoleon, also discovered, supervise him very closely. The Emperor is very upright and shows no weakness. On the left in the foreground, soldiers brandish their caps. The standard bearer, towards which Napoleon extends his left hand and advances, hides his eyes with his left hand. The colors are predominantly dark. The portrayal of this scene, described by the various authors as being marked by intense emotion, is rather cold. Gravity, more than emotion, dominates here. The gestures are stiff, the faces frozen. The painter seems to be torn between two visions.

Interpretation

Horace Vernet (1789-1863), author of the original painting of which Montfort's work is a copy, did not witness the scene. It transcribes what popular imagery has conveyed. The scene takes place just as Napoleon has just finished his speech: "Soldiers of my old guard, I bid you farewell ...". Some men, hardened old grunts, cry. General Petit approaches, Napoleon is going to kiss the flag, hug the general, wish these kisses resound in the hearts of all his brave men. Accounts say that then General Koller put his hat on the end of his sword to brandish it: Vernet's painting, more sober, more restrained, just shows the hat held in his hand, raised above heads. The black legend, developed during the reign of Napoleon, fueled by England, is based on internal opposition and popular weariness in the face of incessant wars generating misery: the Eagle has become the Ogre. After the abdication, the black legend continued to circulate, as hundreds of anti-Napoleonic pamphlets appeared between 1814 and 1821. But a Napoleonic golden legend also developed with the return of the Bourbons. It is about a history revised and corrected by the accounts of the old soldiers or half-pay, the engravings and the popular songs which glorify the fate of the Small Corporal and the power given then to France. If the great authors contribute to fuel this imperial epic (Hugo, Lamartine, Musset, Vigny, Stendhal, Balzac, etc.), the songs and engravings maintain popular fervor. Thus exile contributes to making Napoleon a victim. And the first episode of this tragedy is certainly Napoleon’s farewell to his guard at the foot of the horseshoe staircase in Fontainebleau.

  • exile
  • Vigny (Alfred de)
  • collective imagination
  • Fontainebleau
  • Hugo (Victor)
  • Lamartine (Alphonse de)
  • Musset (Alfred de)
  • Balzac (Honoré de)
  • Stendhal (Henri Beyle, said)

Bibliography

Jacques BAINVILLE Napoleon Paris, reedited Balland, 1995.Juan-Carlos CARMIGNANI and Jean TRANIE Napoleon: 1814, the French campaign Paris, Pygmalion-Gérard Watelet, 1989. Paul NOIROT Napoleon Bonaparte: literary reflections and resonances from 1800 to 2000 Paris, Maisonneuve and Larose, 1999 Jean TULARD (dir.) Napoleon dictionary Paris, Fayard, reprint 1999.

To cite this article

Martine GIBOUREAU, "Napoleon's farewell to the Imperial Guard (April 20, 1814)"


Video: Battle of Waterloo: French Cavalry Charge

Napoleons Abschied von der kaiserlichen Garde (20. April 1814)

Napoleons Abschied von der kaiserlichen Garde (20. April 1814)

Schließen

Titel: Napoleons Abschied von der kaiserlichen Garde im Cour du Cheval-Blanc im Château de Fontainebleau.

Autor: MONTFORT Antoine Alphonse (1802 - 1884)

Datum angezeigt: 20. April 1814

Maße: Höhe 98 - Breite 130

Technik und andere Indikationen: 20. April 1814 Öl auf Leinwand Nach Horace Vernet.

Lagerraum: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 90EE1012 / MV 1775

Napoleons Abschied von der kaiserlichen Garde im Cour du Cheval-Blanc im Château de Fontainebleau.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Februar 1814: Der Feldzug in Frankreich wird schlecht; Die Generäle folgen nicht mehr den Plänen Napoleons, der am 18. Februar seinen letzten Sieg in der Schlacht von Montereau errungen hat. Am Mittwoch, den 20. April, geht es auf die Insel Elba.

Bildanalyse

Die Szene befindet sich im Cour du Cheval Blanc (in Erinnerung an diese Episode auch Cour des Adieux genannt). Oben und links sehen wir die berühmte Hufeisentreppe unter Ludwig XIII. Napoleon ist in der Mitte des Bildes, Gesicht auf, in Stiefeln, Schwert an der Seite, sein Kopf trägt den legendären Hut. Links hinter ihm sahen die Vertreter der siegreichen Länder mit dem Hut in der Hand ernst aus. Einer von ihnen hebt seinen Hut mit der linken Hand. Die beiden ebenfalls entdeckten Generäle Napoleons rahmen ihn sehr eng ein. Der Kaiser ist sehr aufrecht und zeigt keine Schwäche. Links im Vordergrund schwingen Soldaten ihre Mützen. Der Fahnenträger, zu dem Napoleon seine linke Hand ausstreckt und vorrückt, verbirgt seine Augen mit der linken Hand. Die Farben sind überwiegend dunkel. Die Darstellung dieser Szene, die von den verschiedenen Autoren als von intensiven Emotionen geprägt beschrieben wird, ist eher kalt. Hier dominiert mehr die Schwerkraft als die Emotion. Die Gesten sind steif, die Gesichter gefroren. Der Maler scheint zwischen zwei Visionen hin und her gerissen zu sein.

Interpretation

Horace Vernet (1789-1863), Autor des Originalgemäldes, von dem Montforts Werk eine Kopie ist, war kein Zeuge der Szene. Es transkribiert, was populäre Bilder vermittelt haben. Die Szene spielt sich gerade ab, als Napoleon gerade seine Rede beendet hat: "Soldaten meiner alten Garde, ich verabschiede mich von Ihnen ...". Einige Männer, alte, hartgesottene Grunzer, weinen. General Petit nähert sich, Napoleon wird die Flagge küssen, den General umarmen und wünschen, dass diese Küsse in den Herzen all seiner tapferen Männer erklingen. Berichten zufolge setzte General Koller seinen Hut auf das Ende seines Schwertes, um es zu schwingen: Vernets Gemälde, nüchterner, zurückhaltender, zeigt nur den Hut, der in seiner Hand gehalten und über den Köpfen erhoben wurde. Die schwarze Legende, die während der Regierungszeit Napoleons entwickelt wurde und von England angetrieben wird, basiert auf innerer Opposition und Müdigkeit der Bevölkerung angesichts unaufhörlicher Kriege, die Elend erzeugen: Der Adler ist zum Oger geworden. Nach der Abdankung zirkulierte die schwarze Legende weiter, als zwischen 1814 und 1821 Hunderte von anti-napoleonischen Flugblättern erschienen. Mit der Rückkehr der Bourbonen entwickelte sich jedoch auch eine napoleonische goldene Legende. Es handelt von einer Geschichte, die durch die Berichte der alten Soldaten oder der halben Bezahlung, die Gravuren und die populären Lieder, die das Schicksal des kleinen Unteroffiziers und die Macht, die Frankreich damals gegeben wurde, verherrlichen und korrigieren, überarbeitet und korrigiert wurden. Wenn die großen Autoren dazu beitragen, dieses kaiserliche Epos (Hugo, Lamartine, Musset, Vigny, Stendhal, Balzac usw.) zu befeuern, behalten die Lieder und Stiche die Leidenschaft der Bevölkerung bei. So trägt das Exil dazu bei, Napoleon zum Opfer zu machen. Und die erste Episode dieser Tragödie ist sicherlich Napoleons Abschied von seiner Wache am Fuße der Hufeisentreppe in Fontainebleau.

  • Exil
  • Vigny (Alfred de)
  • kollektive Vorstellungskraft
  • Fontainebleau
  • Hugo (Victor)
  • Lamartine (Alphonse de)
  • Musset (Alfred de)
  • Balzac (Honoré de)
  • Stendhal (Henri Beyle, sagte)

Literaturverzeichnis

Jacques BAINVILLE Napoleon Paris, redigiert Balland, 1995. Juan-Carlos CARMIGNANI und Jean TRANIE Napoleon: 1814, der französische Feldzug Paris, Pygmalion-Gérard Watelet, 1989. Paul NOIROT Napoleon Bonaparte: literarische Reflexionen und Resonanzen von 1800 bis 2000 Paris, Maisonneuve und Larose, 1999 Jean TULARD (Regie) Napoleon Wörterbuch Paris, Fayard, Nachdruck 1999.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Martine GIBOUREAU, "Napoleons Abschied von der kaiserlichen Garde (20. April 1814)"


Video: 10 biggest battles in the Napoleonic era